Arthur Rimbaud and the Core of Professional Development

Downtown Greensboro has a new independent bookstore.  Scuppernong Books1378253_303375146467500_528342990_n

The store is an engaging space. The book collection is civilized, sophisticated, appealing. It beckons from a higher brow.

Patronize this store.

Among the titles on the half-price shelf, I found Rimbaud, The Double Life of A Rebel, by Edmund White. In it, I learned that a letter Rimbaud wrote to a friend in the early 1870’s, “The Seer’s Letter,”  is one of the foundations of modern poetry. Rimbaud said,

Arthur Rimbaud

Arthur Rimbaud

I am present at the explosion of my thought. I watch and I listen to it. I wave the baton; the symphony murmurs from its depths or comes leaping onto the stage.

I link Rimbaud to the professional development practices of Jim Williams and the earlier post here.

In the act of introspection, “we objectify the self”. That is the core of professional development.

Jim Williams, Arthur Rimbaud.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

